Programs & Awards

The Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion supports several faculty/staff programs and awards at the University of Michigan. Learn more about each of these and their impact on the University and surrounding com

distinguished-diversity-leaders-awardDo you know a member of the staff or an entire work team that stands out by demonstrating extraordinary commitment and dedication to diversity at the University of Michigan? Share your story by making a nomination for the Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award.

The Distinguished Diversity Leaders Award was established to shine a light on those staff members who work toward achieving a welcoming, supportive and inclusive working environment. It is intended to celebrate those who embrace the value of diversity and recognize how it helps set the University apart.

This award is made possible by the Office of the Provost and University Human Resources to celebrate progress toward creating a welcoming, supportive and diverse environment.


If you have questions about the award, please contact Jennifer Wade at the Office for Institutional Equity: 763-0235.

Nominate a U-M staff member

DEI Innovation Grant Fund

To encourage campus-wide efforts that promote, enhance and celebrate diversity, equity and inclusion, the Office Diversity, Equity & Inclusion has established a dedicated DE&I Innovation Fund to support projects that advance an innovative approach to DEI at U-M.

The recommended average size of grants should range between $2,000 and $5,000. Students, staff and faculty are eligible to apply. Requests of up to $10,000 may be considered under unique circumstances. The deadline to apply is March 15, 2019; funds are available upon approval of the application and are to be expensed by June 30, 2020.

Funding Criteria

  • Awards will provide seed funding for ideas that have the potential to catalyze long range transformative change in the U-M campus environment
  • Priority will be given to ongoing efforts, as opposed to one-time events
  • Proposals should describe in detail a plan for sustainability
  • Projects should not be a part of existing DE&I plans
  • Awardees must provide a summary of the project at completion



The Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award, named after Dean Emeritus of the School of Social Work, was established in 1996 to recognize faculty whose service goes above and beyond their regular duties and contributes to the development of a culturally and ethnically diverse campus community.

Previously, nominees were required to be full-time tenured or tenured track faculty, however, beginning this year, nominations will be accepted for all regular instructional and research faculty, including librarians, curators, and archivists on the Ann Arbor campus
(including the Medical School).

Nominations can be made by faculty, staff, and students, and must include a nomination letter, which should not exceed 2,000 words.

The nomination letter should explain the particular distinction that makes the nominee exceptionally qualified for this honor using one or more of the following criteria:

  • Public and/or academically oriented endeavors that demonstrate intellectual excellence and commitment to cultural diversity in service, teaching, scholarship, and/or creative activity
  • Efforts to increase diversity or improve the climate within one’s academic unit and/or the University
  • Efforts to use scholarly and/or creative work to enhance the success of students and faculty of diverse cultural and racial backgrounds
  • Willingness to serve as a mentor to students who have a commitment to diversity and social justice
  • Sustained effort and demonstrated outcomes to bring about equity in our community or society as a whole

The nomination letter may also incorporate quotations from former and current students, peers, faculty, and communities impacted by the nominee’s work. Nominations must include the nomination form, a letter from the nominator regarding the nominee’s service and accomplishments in the areas described above, and a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vita.

Up to five awards are made annually, which includes a $5,000 stipend for each honoree.

If you have questions, please call Laura Harrington at (734) 764-3982

Additional Information:
– Six Recieve Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award | April 23, 2018
Deadline: March 23, 2018
Send nomination packets electronically as a single PDF file to

kcp-logoThe King-Chavez-Parks Visiting Professors Program, funded through both the University and the State of Michigan, contributes to the intellectual diversity of the campus by providing guest faculty with diverse points of view and experiences. Some Visiting Professors have traditional scholarly backgrounds; others may be outstanding performers or practitioners in their fields. Visits are generally five days or fewer. Sponsoring departments are encouraged to include activities with local K-12 schools and other area institutions of higher education as a part of a King-Chavez-Parks visit.

Nominations may be made by any University faculty member. Nominations must be made in combination with matching funds and be approved by and submitted through the nominator’s department chair and dean. Nominations should be submitted at least thirty days before a funding decision is required. Call (734) 764-3982 for detailed information and a nomination packet. You may also download the nomination packet in Adobe PDF format.